Triple X Diamonds

Triple X diamond is a trade term that refers to stones that have excellent cut, polish and symmetry in their GIA grading ratios. Triple X rating is very important and rare.
What is a Triple X diamond?

What is a Triple X diamond?

Triple X diamond is a trade term for brilliant cut diamonds that have been classified by GIA as having excellent cut, excellent symmetry and excellent polish. X is short for Excellent, so Triple X just means Triple Excellent. The degrees of cut, symmetry and smoothness of a diamond indicate the quality of the craftsmanship required to transform a rough diamond into a polished stone. All three influence a diamond’s interaction with light and for this reason Triple Excellent diamonds are diamonds with the best possible craftsmanship. The premium craftsmanship ensures that a diamond emits maximum light and fire.

Think of a diamond as an arrangement of tiny angled mirrors. A standard round brilliant cut diamond has either 57 or 58, what gemologists call “facets”. These facets reflect light from each other, bounce the light into the diamond, divide the light into a spectrum of colors, and return the light to your eyes. It’s an amazing light show that changes with the slightest movement from you or the diamond. This is how light affects the appearance of a diamond.

Facets are the key to the quality of a diamond’s cut. Their angles, size and arrangement to each other, as well as the quality of their surfaces among other factors, are key to providing that brilliance you would expect to see when looking up at a diamond.

This diamond trio demonstrates why the cut is important.
These diamonds have cut grades: Excellent, Good, Poor

The three factors that determine the three Xs

The cut is the most important factor of a diamond. It determines the proportions of a diamond – its depth and the angles of its facets, which in turn affect how light bounces off a diamond. An excellent cut grade means that a diamond has been cut within parameters that allow the diamond to give off intense brightness, sparkle and fire, while having a uniform pattern of light and dark areas. Poorly cut diamonds often have large light or dark spots that make the stone appear dull or uninteresting to the eye.

Symmetry is about the exactness of a diamond’s shape. It refers to how well aligned the facets are and how identical the same types of facets are in size, shape and proportion. In a diamond with excellent symmetry, all the facets should meet on the girdle (the widest part of the diamond). And the points of the kite-shaped facets on the crown (top of the diamond) should line up with the points of the wedge-shaped facets on the pavilion (bottom of the diamond). The large octagonal facet of the table at the top should be centered, while the pavilion facets at the bottom should meet in a perfect spot at the tip of the diamond. Excellent symmetry improves a diamond’s light return and can make a diamond appear more harmonious to the eye.

Polishing is the quality of a diamond’s finish or the smoothness of a diamond’s surface. A diamond with excellent polishing has no visible polishing defects at 10X magnification. Small surface defects, such as pits and polishing lines, are often created by the polishing wheel during the polishing process and can usually be removed through re-polishing. Although they are often invisible to the naked eye, having many surface defects will dull the luster and brilliance of the stone. Think of the diamond’s facets as mirrors. The smoother the surface, the more perfect the reflection. The diamond collects light through these mirrors (facets) around the observer. When a diamond has the right proportions and symmetry, mirrors reflect that light as a dazzling play of brightness, fire and sparkle.

Triple X diamonds cost more than diamonds with lower cut, polish, and symmetry grades, but the difference in price may be worth it for discerning buyers. After all, the Triple X designation signals that a diamond has been crafted with care and craftsmanship.